Key Stage 4 GCSE

Course Followed

At New Forest School we follow the AQA Syllabus for GCSE Maths.

Subject Content

The course covers six broad topic areas:

  1. Number
  2. Algebra
  3. Ratio, proportion and rates of change
  4. Geometry and measures
  5. Probability
  6. Statistics

More detailed information regarding the specific content covered in each topic can be found on the AQA website.


GCSE Mathematics has a Foundation tier (grades 1 – 5) and a Higher tier (grades 4 – 9). Students must take three question papers at the same tier. All question papers must be taken in the same series.

The information in the table below is the same for both Foundation and Higher tiers.

Further Info

More information can be found on the AQA Website